how bad the sound is... as long as the hands touch the ball simultaneously (there is no double contact.) In reality referees call those balls fairly often - and probably even the players feel they have committed a fault - even if according to the rules they haven't. Basic Volleyball Rules - Double Hit in General Double hit is ALLOWED on the first contact, when . Serve receiving, or; Digging; Conclusion. When player serve receives the ball overhead, the double contact is allowed. BUT it is ...
See more videos for Volleyball Double Hit First Contact
The double hit in volleyball call can be the most frustrating rule for setters. Beginner setters often have a hard time making clean, swift contact with the ball. Even a slight mistiming or misalignment can result in the ball contacting both hands unevenly. This results in the dreaded spin that tips all referees off on a double hit violation.
Many double hits are called on the first contact of a hard serve. This really comes from a misunderstanding on the part of the receiver and sometimes form inexperienced referees. Players are coached so strongly from a young age to only use their platform to receive serves and that they should not be trying to set the serve.
A double contact, or double hit, occurs in volleyball when a player touches the ball twice in a row, or if the ball touches two parts of the player’s body in succession. This does not apply for when setting a ball as long as the player’s hands are together and touch the ball at the same time. Examples Of How Double Contact Is Used In Commentary. 1. Johnson executes a great dig, but it goes back into the net and comes back to hit her in the shoulder, therefore committing the double ...
There are 4 basic rules in volleyball you would be crazy not to learn. 1. Double contact on the first team hit. It is legal to make multiple contacts on the ball during the first team contact. The contact must be a single attempt at playing the ball to be legal. If the ball is played twice in succession, it is an illegal 2 hits.
More Volleyball Double Hit First Contact images
Normally, if a player touches the ball with two different parts of the body in succession (not simultaneously), it is a Double Contact fault. However, the block and the first team hit are exceptions to this. During the block and during the first hit, a player can contact the ball more than once, as long as the contacts are all part of one action.
DOUBLE CONTACT: a player hits the ball twice in succession or the ball contacts various parts of his/her body in succession. …” in succession” seems to be interpreted to mean not simultaneous… which seems to be interpreted to mean proper contact must be simultaneous… which seems to be interpreted to mean initial contact must be simultaneous….
Remember, we don’t worry about double contacts on first ball contacts anymore so there is no need to hurry away from the net. Additionally, after that brief pause at the net to catch touches, if you turn to find the ball and the first player contacting it is still “holding” it, you may consider whistling a violation.
The first team contact after a block may be executed by any player, include who touched the volleyball during the block. Blocking an opponent's serve is forbidden. If a blocking fault is completed simultaneously with an opponents attack hit fault, a double fault is committed and the rally is replayed.